Police Department

The History of the Burton Village Police Department

The Village of Burton was incorporated in 1895. The first election was held April 1, 1895. Charles Laraway was the first Marshall. Since that time, some of our Police Chiefs have been;

  • Gary Barnes
  • Rand Barnes
  • Dorothy Wintermute (Mayor/Acting Chief)
  • Bernie Mullen
  • Robert J. Himmelein
  • Sally Hess
  • Dennis Nichols
  • Rick Smigelski

In those early days there was a law that minors could not play pool. There were penalties for intoxication and driving over eight miles per hour. No one was allowed to pitch grouts on Main Street or play baseball in any of the streets. Now we have Gander Field behind the Elementary School and the Luoma horseshoe pit at the fairgrounds. We have come a long way.

Village of Burton Officers

Michael Lewis

Jamie Barna

Dan Perko

Missy Besednjak

Lewis Pettit

Bob Simmons

Robert Marshall

Chief of Police: Richard Smigelski (rsmigelski@villageofburton.org)

Officers: (police@villageofburton.org)

Direct Line for Community Safety

Burton Police Department

To better assist the public, the Burton Police Department’s office number 440-834-1234 automatically sends to the Officer on Duty’s cell phone. This is another step in keeping our community safe. Please remember to call 911 for emergencies.

The Burton Police Department offers a daily check-up on your home if you are going on vacation. To fill out a form for this service, please contact the Burton Police Department.

If you would like to be a CERT volunteer, please contact Chief Richard Smigelski for more information:

Helpful Documents

Title File
Vacation Patrol Log Open File
Police Officer Job Application Open File
No Parking Notice Open File